Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Oh how time changes everything. In the fortnight since my last post I have experienced every emotion possible and I have had to make some really tough decisions. I have cried on a daily basis and stressed out over the littlest things, but I am definitely heading towards a happier place!

So I think it’s time that we had a chat.

  1. I will no longer be travelling.

I know. It is heartbreaking, and I was so looking forward to sharing my journey with you all, but it is for the best. As I am sure you are all aware I was supposed to be going to Nepal in July for three months, but after the shocking recent events I will not be going there anymore. It is completely understandable and I 100% respect the charity’s choice not to send us there. Because I was supposed to be travelling there in the summer, aka the busiest time for overseas volunteers, there was no space to put me on another programme in a different country. The earliest that I could go would be mid-August to mid-November but I have already been waiting since January, and as much as I would love to go it doesn’t fit in with my other plans for 2015 and beyond. Annoyingly I had raised £725 of my £800 target but hey, I’m still proud of myself.

  1. I finally started physiotherapy.

You all know that I love a good moan, and I recently shared with you my spinal problem. Yesterday I FINALLY started my physiotherapy (it is a complicated story of the doctor forgetting to send my referral, cheers mate) but I think it’s helping. I mean my back hurts more than ever, and I will always laugh when a strange tells me to take my top off and then proceeds to poke me, but in the long run it helps. I will see him once a month for an intense massage, and he also encouraged me to take up swimming again (which is a whole body confidence obstacle to overcome in itself), and I have signed up to Tai Chi classes which start on Friday! Ahhhh! So fingers crossed this is the last of my back problems, and I will stop moaning like an old lady soon.

  1. I have a whole new career!

I am equally excited and terrified about my next update… I AM GOING TO BE A TEACHER!!!
I will be teaching English at a secondary school (ages 11-18) and it has all happened so fast that I don’t even know where to begin. A couple of months ago I decided to look into teaching, I considered applying for a few schemes, but my travelling threw everything out of place and I wasn’t expecting to begin anything until September 2016. However I got an email about an evening event near me about getting more teaching experience, I went along, and I was approached by the deputy head to apply as an English teacher (I wasn’t sure if I wanted to do High School or Primary but… ew, little kids) aaaaand yep. Fastforward a God-awful observation lesson and a pretty good interview and I now have a new job and a whole different career plan! I’ll be working as an unqualified teacher for a year, then next year I will be taking the School Direct route and will train to be a NQT/get my PGCE whilst working, and I will officially be a fully qualified teacher! I am absolutely bricking about behaviour and discipline but hey, I can’t knock it til I’ve tried it, and this is an incredible opportunity. I have been watching Educating Yorkshire (seriously, watch it on Netflix if you haven’t seen it before it is the greatest) to remind me of High School and all its ups and downs. I never knew what I wanted to do when I ‘grew up’ and teaching teenagers was never on my agenda, but I guess that is how life plans out. Plus everyone says they can imagine me being a teacher so I guess that is a bonus. It will be a challenge and I am sure I’ll have a few meltdowns, but it will totally be worth it.

Woah, super long life update post was super long but at least you are all caught up on my (mildly) exciting life! I have been bored out of my mind without a life plan so – this is step one! And I will be getting back into the swing of blogging, whilst reacquainting myself with a bit of Shakespeare, over the next few months so that will be fun.

I am going to my cousins wedding on Saturday, so I will hopefully get to share the day with you all, and fingers crossed that the weather stays lovely!

Hope you’re all doing well, sorry I’ve been out of the loop xx

