Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I am heartbroken for Nepal.

If you have been following my blog, you will know that in January I quit my job and decided to go volunteering abroad for three months. My chosen destination was Nepal.

I am volunteering with a fantastic charity called Restless Development (you can read more on their website HERE) who I was drawn to because of their youth focus. Ever since I found out that I would be going I have been fundraising for them – and I am currently £100 short of my target *plug alert* if you have a few pennies spare/want to read more about it PLEASE DO SO HERE.

But now is the tricky part. I don’t know if I will still be going there anymore. It’s selfish of me, but now I’m stuck in a limbo. I, and the 15 other people in my group who were set to depart to Nepal in July, don’t actually know where we are going. I have had all my vaccinations and medical clearance, and technically they haven’t said that we aren’t going to Nepal… but I can 99% guarantee that I won’t be going there. I have been told that I will be going somewhere but I don’t quite know where that somewhere is yet.

Obviously Nepal needs all the help it can get right now, but I am probably not the right person to do so. They need trained professionals – if someone like me went out there I would be getting in the way. I would love to go and help, but I feel that I would be more of a hindrance than a help.

Some of the other countries where Restless Development work are:

  • India
  • Sierra Leone
  • South Africa
  • Tanzania
  • Uganda
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

I will be sure to keep you all updated on where I will be going! And I am determined to visit Nepal one day. It is such a beautiful country, and my hours of research into where I would be going made me fall in love with it. One day I will make it there.

But for now please please please don’t forget about Nepal. In the hype of an election and the birth of a Princess it can be so easy to forget ‘lasts weeks news’ but continual help will be needed. Here is a link to Restless Development’s Nepal Earthquake Update saying about what they are doing out there and has links to donate directly to them. All the funds will be going straight to the Nepal team’s efforts to rebuild their country.

Even if you can’t donate anything, please don’t forget about the people of Nepal 🙂

