Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

According to my friends I have turned into a “political fangirl”. I mean, it’s not necessarily a bad thing to be clued up politics and the Government, but in the last month or so I have become obsessed.
It’s all I watch on TV, it’s my main focus when I’m reading the news, and to be honest I try and slip it in during 90% of my conversations (the other 10% being about Masterchef) so it has slowly taken over.

Something that has come up time and again is people saying that they aren’t voting. They don’t care. Politicians lie. It is all the same. It’s too much effort.

This genuinely upsets me a bit. I won’t even go into a feminist rant about why women in particular should exercise their right to vote (I mean… we have only been able to vote for 87 years!!) but I wish people would vote. If you don’t know who to vote for – go and spoil the ballot paper.

Please please please don’t be taken in by people like Russell Brand who are telling people not to vote. What good will that do? Other people are still going to go and vote, and by not voting you’ll change nothing.

Honestly, if you don’t vote, you don’t really have an opinion when it comes to bitching and whining about whoever the next Government is. But hey, that’s just my humble opinion.

There is only three weeks until the election!

I won’t tell you who to vote for, I don’t even care who you vote for (although if you are considering voting UKIP we may need to have some words) but please register to vote HERE and go to the polling station on May 7th. It takes about 3 minutes to register to vote, and there’s plenty of polling stations open from 7 a.m – 10 p.m so I am sure that on voting day you can find a spare 5 minutes to skip down there.

If you’re not in the UK, then I still urge you to make sure that you’re registered for your country and can have your voice heard!

As side note: this is the first general election that I have been eligible to vote in, and 16 year old Emma was just as strangely excited, so expect more vaguely political posts. And the BBC have invited me to an exciting (maybe it’s only exciting for me, I don’t know) event on Monday to do with politics, so I will have a post up all about that soon!

