Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Happy International Women’s Day!

cool

It is such an amazing day to celebrate, or at least be aware of, and I had to pleasure of spending it in Cambridge with my wonderful friend from university Liss.

She told me about a panel that was happening at Watersprite – The Cambridge International Student Film Festival – and I decided to check it out for myself. This panel in particular was called ‘Still “Male, pale and stale?” Diversity in Film & Television’, which was fitting for International Women’s Day.

The diverse panel took place in St John’s College and featured Jessica Raine (from Call the Midwife, Wolf Hall, The Woman in Black), Danny Lee Wynter (from Hot Fuzz, Holby City) and director Krishnendu Majumdar (An Idiot Abroad, The Happiness Salesman). To directly quote their website, the talk was ‘a provocative discussion on the unequal representation of BME and women in the film and television industries’. Discussions ranged from having less sexualised representations of women in film and TV, disabled actors playing roles that are not focused on their disability, and the general rights and wrongs that both actors and producers face when it comes to things such as gender/age/hidden and visible disabilities/class.

It was a fascinating, thought-provoking discussion and perfect for today!

Unfortunately I couldn’t stay in Cambridge for long (boo!) but we found time to have a quick run around some of the different colleges there. I promise that the weather was a lot better than it looks in this rather grey picture, but I have plans to return later in the year – and I will go on a punting tour!

cambzzzz

