Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I am a huge advocate of referring to your guilty pleasures as your ‘not-so-guilty pleasures’ – why be ashamed of something you love? As long as it is legal/morally acceptable I think that you should be loud and proud about what you enjoy.

So this week I am going to share with you some of my guilty pleasures, in the hopes that you will be more open with yours!

Disclaimer: I know this isn’t my usual style of How to Tackle but as I said, take pleasure in the things that you enjoy. The following list may make you change your mind about me – but at least you will get to know more about who I am!

  • Kanye West. I honestly don’t know what it is about him. He should be everything that I hate but there is just something that draws me to him. And I actually enjoy his music – 2005’s Late Registration and 2008’s 808s & Heartbreak are probably my favourite albums by him. Yeezus is awesome too. There are no words for how gutted I am that I missed him at Koko this week.

3919041044_5bfc1fecb5_o

  • The Kardashians. Again, I know I shouldn’t like them and they add nothing to my life, but damn I love their TV show. And I have a slight secret addiction to the Kim K game. I just find them hilarious, can’t deny it.
  • Pop Music. Actually a lot of music that I’m not the target market for – One Direction, Taylor Swift, Take That, 5 Seconds of Summer (and yes I have seen/will be seeing all of those live) to name a few. I just love it, it makes me so happy! I also have a tendency to go back and listen to music from 2005-2008, I have no shame that I was rocking out to The Pussycat Dolls at 2 a.m the other day…
  • Shia LaBeouf. I’ve just got a massive crush on Shia I can’t even explain it to myself. He is a great actor though, despite his very strange public persona.

9256407372_a409b254e0_k

  • Daytime TV. Since I have been unemployed my consumption of daytime TV has increased. Bargain Hunt, Antiques Roadtrip, Pointless, Countdown, Deal or No Deal, House Gift, 60 Minute Makeover with Peter Andre… do I need to continue? I’m such an old lady.

116136642_1a928c013a_b

  • Trash TV in general. I’ve already confessed my Kardashian obsession but I just love a bit of trash TV. Dance Moms is my latest obsession, but Channel 4’s documentaries are my biggest guilty pleasure – during my first year at university I somehow got everyone to watch Virgin School (the name speaks for itself) so if there is a taboo/weird show I can almost guarantee that I have seen it.
  • Rewatching the same films over and over and over. This isn’t a typical guilty pleasure, but if I am completely honest, I would rather watch a film I know 100x than watch a new one. And Mean Girls is probably my #1 contender for this spot.

4419160266_9c559fc5d3_b

  • Pretending I’m a TV host. This can’t just be me right? For example if I’m making a sandwich in the kitchen I will occasionally pretend that I am on TV and will make a huge show of it. I mean, I my life goal at one point was to host Ready Steady Cook so it makes sense…
  • Night time cereal. Breakfast isn’t just for the morning, it also makes a perfectly acceptable dinner/late night snack. I’m judged for this more than I expected.

5333822538_15cda53160_z

  • Fanfiction. I could write a whole separate post about fanfiction and how much I approve of it. I have been aware of fanfiction for over a decade now and whilst it isn’t something that I read nowadays it is definitely important. GO FANFICTION WOOO.

So there you have it. 10 of my not-so-guilty pleasures. I feel you should accept your weirdness and do the things that you love. Who cares what other people think? This obviously wasn’t a post explaining ‘how to accept’ your guilty pleasure, but they are so wide and varied that doing so would be impossible. I just hope that by sharing some of mine with you, you will share some of yours with me!

What are your guilty pleasures? Do you have a secret hobby? Is there a certain TV series that you watch alone? Let me know!

(Apologies for going a bit quiet this week! I have temporarily moved in with my Grandparents temporarily to care for them so my spare time has been cut dramatically. I will be back in the swing of things soon!)

