Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Dieting is a big business – the Atkins diet, Cabbage soup diet, juice diet, various detoxes… the list goes on.

I don’t have the patience or will-power to diet, I know that to lose weight you have to be committed and make a big lifestyle change, you cannot rely on constant dieting. And where is the fun in denying yourself the things that you should enjoy (with moderation) in life?

apple

Short-term/crash diets don’t work. I know this. However when I came across The Military Diet I decided it was worth a go. I mean, you eat hot dogs and ice cream on it, what could be so bad? It is a three day diet, and you are not supposed to do it for any longer than this. It is also claimed that you can lose up to 10 pounds in a week and it kick starts your metabolism. Whilst I know that this isn’t healthy and was pretty skeptic about this, I was curious enough to give it a shot.

Here is an example day on the diet: the rest can be viewed on the website via this link.

Day One:
Breakfast – 1/2 Grapefruit
1 Slice of Toast
2 Tablespoons of Peanut Butter
1 cup Coffee or Tea (with caffeine)

Lunch – 1/2 Cup of Tuna
1 Slice of Toast
1 cup Coffee or Tea (with caffeine)

Dinner -3 ounces of any type of meat
1 cup of green beans
1/2 banana
1 small apple
1 cup of vanilla ice cream

Yeah… I gave up on the diet after breakfast on the third day. You cannot visit your Irish grandparents whilst you’re on a diet – they will force-feed you. Overall the diet wasn’t that bad – I drank loads of water, and kept active between meals. I actually lost 7 pounds on the diet, mixed with other workouts, but I am sure that this is mostly water weight.

However as soon as I was off the diet I just ate whatever I wanted to and probably put that 7 pounds straight back on. It has been a ridiculously stressful week, so I have definitely been comfort eating. Oh well.

~

Something that I have found useful in keeping me on track to make healthier choices is the My Fitness Pal app. I am sure by now that everyone has heard of it, but it really is great. It is free, simple, and easy to use.

I’m not normally a fan of calorie counting but I find it interesting to see just how many calories are in certain products. It also allows you to input your statistics (height, weight, activity level) and whether you want to gain or lose weights, and suggests a daily calorie goal based on your answers. In addition it will give you helpful tips such as “Eat less sugar today” or “You should aim to eat 20% protein today”. It’s a great little app and I suggest it to anyone who wants to keep a track on what they are actually eating – whether you care about the calories or not.

So there is my little diet update. Have any of you tried any crazy diets before? Or are you strong believers in having a healthier lifestyle and making more long-term changes for the future?

