Tags

, , ,

It’s always good to kick things off with a Mean Girls quote, right?

My name is Emma, I am 21, and a recent graduate who works in London and is still trying to decide what I want to be when I grow up. So now that the awkward mandatory introduction is done – welcome to 2015!

I will admit that I am not one for New Years resolutions, and tend to ignore those who preach that this year not only will they drop ten dress sizes, but will learn five different languages, learn to drive an aeroplane, and quit smoking overnight. Props to you if you actually stick to this, but I give those kinds of people a month maximum.

However this year is what I have already labelled my ‘Nothing Year’. 2015 marks my first full year as a graduate who has been unleashed on the world. Sure, I have a full-time job, a decent enough social life, and enough unwatched television shows to keep me preoccupied with Netflix in my spare time, but I honestly have no idea where I will be this time next year. Which brings me to this blog and: My Vague Resolutions for 2015

  • Blogging – I absolutely love reading other peoples blogs, and not only learning more about a topic but also about the person who wrote it. I enjoy writing, half of my degree was based on literature, but in the past few years I have neglected this past passion. From writing on LiveJournal through to writing fanfiction (I won’t deny it) I used to obsess over writing stories, little life updates, pretty much anything that came to mind. However I have no idea what direction this blog will take – I’m not hot on fashion or beauty, I enjoy music but I am far from possessing enough knowledge to write extensively on it. But I guess that is half the fun of writing, who knows where this will end up?
  • Move to London – I currently live at home. The positive of this is free rent and food, and catching up with family and my pet cat. However, my commute to work easily totals over 4 hours a day, I miss the freedom of having my own space, and I just want to explore a new area outside of the town where I grew up. I have set myself a personal goal to move to London by March, or at least to be seriously looking at flats and prospective locations. As long as I am not living with my parents by the end of the year I will be happy.
  • Pass my Driving Test – Pretty self-explanatory. I have been learning since the beginning of September (I do not even want to think about how much this has cost me so far) and my test is booked for a secret date in January. I know it’s stupid to learn to drive and then move to London, but at least it’s another life skill. I may write a whole separate post about driving, as I know many people are in the same boat at the moment!
  • Actually wear my contact lenses – A weird one, granted, but since I was in primary school I have had to wear glasses constantly. There is nothing wrong with wearing glasses at all, but I don’t seen the harm in wanting to mix up your image after fourteen years, right?
  • Learn guitar – I was kicked out of guitar club when I was 9 years old, attempted again when I was about 13, and every time I have given up as soon as possible. I already own a guitar and have countless books which aim to teach you how to play, but I can see myself giving up on this within ten minutes of starting. At least I will give it a go.
  • Franco Book – For Christmas one of the presents that I received was ‘Colour Me Good – James Franco’ which is essentially a colouring book featuring James Franco. I have promised to complete a drawing a week, and I may even dedicate a section of this blog to show the progress of it…

So there you have a small insight into where I am at the moment, and my mixed bag of resolutions. Who knows how often I will keep this blog updated, and it will probably just be for my own benefit, but hey, it will be great to keep track of my life as I try and work out where I am headed with it. I am sure that this will mainly consist of reviews of gigs, events and possible films; vaguely amusing life updates; colouring book progress; and hopefully some interesting and actually useful information.

I leave you with my first selfie of 2015: that is me on the left, alongside my best friend Chloe who actually bought me the Franco book! Such joy in our faces. ssselfie

And now I shall resume crying over Esio Trot. Laters xx

